Book Review: South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

South of the Boarder, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami

I first discovered Haruki Murakami when I read Norwegian Wood, it certainly wasn’t a light read and his writing is outstanding. South of the Border, West of the Sun was recommended to me and as soon as I knew it was Murakami, I jumped straight on Amazon and snapped it up.

Based in post-war Japan the, typically dream like, story focuses on Hajime and his first love Shimamoto. With a successful business empire and a loving family, Hajime risks losing it all over the irrational love of a childhood fantasy.

As usual, Murakami’s writing is beautiful and haunting. However, I felt that when finished, I was left wanting more but I guess that is his style. Murakami will never give you the answers, his books will always leave the reader contemplating and lost in thought and that’s the beauty of his writing.
All photography taken with my iphone5, imagery belongs to Lilo Loves.

Leave a Reply

